• Advertisement
Join Your States Prepper Network. Click Here

Free Prepping Supplies

Tips and ideas on how to make the most of what we have....or what others have thrown away.

Free Prepping Supplies

Postby vtwinzazen » Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:46 am

I work in a Hospital. They throw out a lot of useful stuff. Here are some things that I collect and some uses I find for them. They are clean and not contaminated. If you work or know someone that works in the medical field you can see if they can get some things like this. I'm sure this stuff can be found in other industries. I remember when I worked in a chemical plant we could buy the used drums cheap. There was food and non food grade. Metal and plastic. All were used only once.
Mylar coffee bags. Took these out of the boxes they came in. There are always meetings with coffee and bagels. Some uses; water, bean, rice, grain storage.
Mylar coffee bag.jpg
Mylar coffee bag.jpg (63.21 KiB) Viewed 2701 times

Ice packs. I get these from the pharmacy, Cardiac Cath or the lab. These helped out during our last 2 storms for the refrigerator contents. You can also use them to keep the contents of heat sensitive stuff cool in the car trunk during the warmer months. You can keep a cooler for these things in your trunk along with your Get Home Bag. Just transfer these items from cooler to bag and go home. All you have to do is swap out the bags every day. They stay cooler than ice and are less messy. The Angio Bags get sealed with a seal a meal but not with full vacuum. The Angio Bag plastic is less durable.
Ice bags.jpg
Ice bags.jpg (50.76 KiB) Viewed 2701 times