• Advertisement

Join Your States Prepper Network. Click Here

Beef Jerky

Discuss general food topics here

Beef Jerky

Postby Y2KNOWAY » Sun Jan 09, 2011 4:41 pm

I like it - in small amounts, especially the terriaki beef jerky.

But as I am new at all this, I was wondering if there was a better source for beef jerky than typical grocery stores.

I guess I am looking for the most jerky per $$.

Also, has anyone heard of pounding (cutting/chopping) jerky and then adding it to soups? If meat is scarce I was trying to think of ways to make it stretch. Would it 're-hydrate' like dried fruit does?
Fear allows or makes people do stupid things. They don’t make good decisions. Well, if there’s a crisis that they have not prepared you for, you will be fearful. Glen Beck, 11/8/2010
Y2KNOWAY
Pennsylvania Preppers Network

Re: Beef Jerky

Postby mmpaints » Sun Jan 09, 2011 5:34 pm

Well, from what I've read, native American indians did that, made jerky to preserve their meat and added to their soups etc.

I steer away hard from the store bought anything because the chemicals in it makes me sick. MSG mainly. I make my own jerky all the time, both beef and deer. The important part of it is to make sure all the fat is gone because it goes rancid. The meat doesnt fare too well when that happens.
"Life is hard. It's even harder if you're stupid". - John Wayne

WARNING- i change my avatar frequently for my own enjoyment. Complaining about it won't help ;)
mmpaints
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Postby CajunDaddys_girl » Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:22 pm

Homemade beef jerky is the best to use, and you know how well the fat is removed which is very important to prevent the meat from going rancid as MM said...
You know what your putting into it, the quality of your chosen meats, how well it has been processed, what spices and such you have used..